Aaron Chimbel, Dr. Melita Garza, Margaret Ritsch, Dr. Doug Newsom Courtesy of schieffercollege.tcu.edu

Four faculty members of the TCU Bob Schieffer College of Communication were recognized at the annual conference held by the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) in San Francisco in August.

AEJMC is an international nonprofit that encourages outstanding teaching in mass communication and journalism. According to the AEJMC website, “The Association’s mission is to advance education, foster scholarly research, cultivate better professional practice and promote the free flow of communication.”

Aaron Chimbel, associate professor of professional practice in the Schieffer College, Melita Garza, assistant professor in the Schieffer College and Margaret Ritsch, instructor in the School of Strategic Communication were acknowledged for their outstanding teaching and writing in the previous year.

The conference offers workshops and various activities for educators to attend and many awards are given out for superior work in the field of journalism and mass communication.

“Usually, a handful of journalism and other Schieffer College faculty attend the conference, which is the main conference for journalism and mass communication educators,” Chimbel said.

AEJMC announced that in honor of Professor Emerita Doug Newsom, retired faculty of TCU’s Public Relations program, there will be a new award given next year called the Doug Newsom Award. The first award will be given at next year’s conference to the top paper on global ethics and global diversity.





+ posts

Alexa McBride is a junior Journalism major and Film, TV, and Digital Media minor from Orange County, California. She is an Academics reporter for TCU 360.