TCU rifle to return to NCAA Championships


    TCU rifle has a shot at its third national championship title in four years, as the team was selected as one of the top eight teams to compete in the NCAA Championship.

    The top eight teams were announced Wednesday evening. The competitors are TCU, West Virginia, Kentucky, Alaska-Fairbanks, Jacksonville State, Army, Nebraska and Air Force.

    Team qualifiers were determined by combining the team's top three scores in both smallbore and air rifle for the 2012-2013 season, adding the team's score from their qualifier this past weekend and averaging the four scores.

    The event will mark the seventh straight year that the Horned Frogs qualified for the NCAA Championship. The Frogs were national air rifle champions in 2010 and 2012, finished third in 2008 and 2011, and finished fifth in 2007 and 2009. 

    Senior Sarah Scherer was the individual smallbore national champion in 2010 and 2012.

    The team shot over the 4,700 point-mark three times this season including a school-record of 4,718 against Kentucky on Nov. 17.

    Scherer broke the NCAA record in smallbore with an individual 597 score and set the NCAA record for an aggregate score when combined with her 598 score in air rifle.

    Team members include Sarah Beard, Catherine Green, Megan Lee and Scherer.

    The rifle team went undefeated in the 2012-2013 regular season and are riding a 23-match win streak. The team has only lost two matches since the start of the 2009-2010 season.

    The 2013 NCAA Championship takes place at the Ohio State University March 8 and 9.