Student Government gathers for first meeting of semester


    Correction: A previous version of this story incorrectly identified a member of the finance committee. 

    Student Government Association kicked off their first meeting of the semester Tuesday evening by introducing the finance committee members.

    The members include Matt Spangler, Mitch Titsworth, Jansen Harrison, Burton Cowles, Steffen Francisco, Garrett Adair, and Thomas Kober. Each person represents a specific college at the university.

    Finance committee chairman Jeffrey Chatman said he selected the eight members that comprise the committee. No women applied for the positions.

    When a representative asked how the finance committee would respond if an organization questioned why there was an entirely male group, Chatman said he would work on a person-by-person basis.

    Student Body President Cody Westphal said he is excited to be back and work with this particular group of students.

    “I’ve been working to get the house to be the most effective body and one of the most effective organizations in doing positive work on campus,” he said.

    Other items from Tuesday’s meeting:

    • Class of 2017 representative applications will open August 28 and will remain available until September 3.
    • The Activities Funding Board will begin hearing presentations from student organizations if they chose to be considered for this funding. SGA has $70,000 allotted to organizations that are chosen during this week.

    Follow the liveblog updates from the meeting: