Preston Morrison wins Big 12 Pitcher of the Year, 12 Frogs honored


    The Big 12 honored 12 Horned Frog baseball players Tuesday with All-Big 12 selections and gave Big 12 Pitcher of the Year honors to Preston Morrison, according to a press release.

    Morrison, a junior right-hander, earned the award after tossing a 1.18 ERA and starting 13 games this season. The Waxhaw, N.C., native pitched in five of TCU’s 14 record-breaking shutouts.

    Morrison was also the Mountain West’s Pitcher of the Year in 2012, making him the first Frog to ever win Pitcher of the Year honors twice.

    Along with Morrison, junior Brandon Finnegan and sophomores Riley Ferrell and Boomer White were named first-team All-Big 12. Three members of the team were named to the second-team and five to the third-team.

    The Frogs finished the regular season with a 38-15 overall record. TCU also went 17-7 in conference play, which is good for second-place behind Oklahoma State (41-14, 18-6 Big 12).

    The purple and white returns to play Wednesday afternoon as they take on Baylor in the first round of the Big 12 Championship. First pitch is at 12:30 p.m. from Oklahoma City, Okla.