Football announces 2014 season award winners


    The TCU football program announced its team awards from last season and honored the 2014 senior class during Saturday night’s banquet.

    The seniors finished their careers with a 34-17 record while winning the 2014 Big 12 championship and the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.

    The TCU football program presented 12 awards at the team banquet.

    Junior Trevone Boykin won Offensive Most Valuable Player for the second straight season. The team also voted Boykin the Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player.

    Special Teams Most Valuable Player was awarded to junior Jaden Oberkrom for the third straight season. Senior Paul Dawson won Defensive Most Valuable Player.

    Redshirt freshman L.J. Collier won Defensive Scout Team Most Valuable Player.

    The Offensive Scout Team Most Valuable Player was awarded to redshirt freshman Foster Sawyer.

    Davey O’Brien Fightin’est Frog Award was given to seniors Sam Carter and Marcus Mallet. Carter also won the Abe Martin Leadership award.

    Junior B.J. Catalon won the Grassy Hinton Most Conscientious Award.

    The Y.Q. McCammon Outstanding Squadman award was presented to redshirt freshman Michael Downing.

    Junior Josh Doctson received the Ralph Lowe Sportsmanship Award.

    Senior Geoff Hooker won the G. Malcolm Louden Academic Achievement Award.