Department of Spanish and Hispanic Studies honors students


    This year marks the fifth award ceremony for the Department of Spanish and Hispanic Studies.

    The awards honoring the students included faculty choice awards, the Service Award, the Senior Honors Scholar and the Antonio Rivarés Award.

    There were musical pieces performed at the beginning, middle and end of the ceremony.

    The musical pieces included “Serenata Mexicana” by Manuel Ponce, “Los Pájaros Perdidos” by Astor Piazzolla, “Aranjuez” by Joaquín Rodrigo and “Granada” by Agustín Lara.

    Department Chair Dr. Komla Aggor gave opening remarks, beginning by welcoming those in attendance.

    Aggor thanked the faculty for the “support they provide each day for the students to succeed.”

    Aggor said the awardees were selected on a basis of GPA and spoken language proficiency.

    The first students to receive awards were those chosen by their own professors for the Faculty Choice Awards.

    Following the Faculty Choice Awards was one of the musical pieces performed by Patricia Bedford and Echo Wilson.

    Both Bedford and Wilson are adjunct professors at the northwest campus for Tarrant County College. Bedford teaches Voice and Musical Appreciation and Wilson teaches piano.

    Sra. Karla O’Donald presented the Service Award to senior Maggie Fitzpatrick.

    Dr. Mary McKinney, who announced the event, presented the Senior Honors Scholar award to senior Caleigh Prewitt.

    The Antonio Rivarés Award, the highest honor in the award ceremony, was given to Jenna Wiles.

    Aggor said “this award is presented to a graduating Spanish major who, during his or her studies at TCU, has demonstrated consistent outstanding scholastic performance and continued interest in the activities of the Spanish program.”

    Antonio Rivarés was a professor at TCU and served as chair of the department of Modern Languages and Literatures from 1965-1979.

    A painting was revealed at the ceremony of Rivarés that will be hung in the department.

    His niece, Rosabel Rivarés, introduced the award by saying her uncle “would certainly be proud.”

    She also told the story of her uncle’s life, including that he founded the department of Spanish on TCU’s campus, continued to develop it as a department of Hispanic culture and shared the fact that one of his former students is now Pope Francis.

    Wiles is a double major in Hispanic Studies and Neuroscience, has studied abroad twice, has made the Dean’s List four times and is a Chancellor Scholar.

    Wiles said she is “excited to be practicing medicine in a Spanish speaking area” and explained her ability to speak Spanish feels like a “superpower.”

    McKinney made closing remarks, thanking everyone who was able to attend and said the students “make it a pleasure for us to come to work everyday.”

    There was a mariachi band surprise at the end of the ceremony as well as a reception in the atrium of Scharbauer Hall.

    Faculty Choice Award Winners:

    1. Dr. Komla Aggor

    Courtney Hall

    Jewel Sullivan

    2. Dr. David Bedford

    Natalie Means

    Kendal Chaker

    3. Dr. Regan Boxwell

    Allison Davis

    Paige Poe

    4. Dr. Lee Daniel

    Avery Haugen

    Sue-Jin Grenn

    5. Dr. Arturo Flores

    Sheridan Johnston

    Allison Riemersma

    6. Dr. Bonnie Frederick

    Nicole Hicks

    Brendan Mulqueeny

    7. Dr. Donald Frischmann

    Daniel Castro

    8. Dr. Dianne Hobbs

    Shannon Edmond

    Gaby Perez-Marquez

    9. Dr. Sohyun Lee

    Jordan Macaskill

    Audrey Laker

    10. Karen Martin

    Daniel Athenour

    Hayley Zablotsky

    11. Dr. Mary McKinney

    Claire Bordeaux

    Graydon Jones

    12. Karla O’Donald

    Makenzie Burnett

    Sofia Wong

    13. Dr. Ryan Schmitz

    Haley Schroer

    Melissa Moreira

    14. Dr. Steven Sloan

    Riley Smith

    Felisa Martinez