Player wins back-to-back regionals


    The men’s and women’s tennis teams concluded their fall seasons Monday, but a women’s doubles team will soon play in the ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships.Senior Ana Cetnik and sophomore Anna Sydorska won the doubles championship in 2006 at the Wilson/Intercollegiate Association Southwest Regional Championships at Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center, where they had been seeded No. 2.

    Cetnik and Sydorska were able to overcome a 5-1 deficit in the eight-game pro-set championship match, defeating the No. 7-seeded LSU Tigers team. They went on a 7-1 run before taking the match 8-6.

    “I knew as soon as we started playing together we would start winning,” Cetnik said. “We knew we could beat them even when we were losing.”

    Sydorska said once she and Cetnik learned to communicate better on the court, things began to go their way.

    Jefferson Hammond, interim head coach for the women’s tennis team, said the Frogs went into the tournament expecting to win it.

    “I was very happy with how our team played,” Hammond said. “We went in with a winning attitude and came out on top.”

    By winning the tournament, Cetnik and Sydorska received a place in the ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships hosted by the Ohio State Buckeyes.

    Sydorska is making her second consecutive trip to the Indoor Championships. She is the Horned Frogs’ first-ever female tennis player to win back-to-back regional doubles championships.

    Cetnik is also no stranger to the national stage as she made it to the doubles semifinals of the NCAA tournament last year, earning All-America status.

    Sydorska said she is confident about her team’s chances in the upcoming tournament, and she works well with Cetnik.

    Cetnik and Sydorska are currently ranked No. 24 in the country as a doubles team by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association.

    The men’s doubles team Radu Barbu and Cosmin Cotet led the team in progression through the draw by advancing to the quarterfinal round before falling to the tournament’s runner-up team.