Skiff racks up SPJ awards



    Student journalists and staff won 15 awards at the Region 8 Society of Professional Journalists Convention in a competition between major college journalism programs in Texas and Oklahoma on Saturday.

    The Daily Skiff, and Image Magazine took first place Mark of Excellence awards for Best Daily Student Newspaper published at least four times per week, Best Affiliated Web Site and Best Student Magazine.

    Fifteen student journalists won individual awards in the convention's student competitions. First place winners included Hilary Whittier for TV Feature and TV News Reporting, Billy Wessels for Online Sports Reporting and Saerom Yoo and Andrew Chavez for Online Feature Reporting.

    First place winners will compete against 11 other region winners for the top national Mark of Excellence honors this fall.

    The SPJ is dedicated to the promotion of freedom of the press as an integral part of the nation and its membership spans over 9,000 members nationwide, according to the organization's Web site.

    The SPJ convention occurs annually and is the largest program the society offers, according to the Web site.

    2009 SPJ Award Winners

    1st place TV Feature – Hilary Whittier "News Now goes live"

    1st place Online Sports Reporting – Billy Wessels "TCU falls to #2 Oklahoma"

    1st place TV News Reporting – Hilary Whittier "The Adderall Generation"

    1st place Online Feature Reporting – Saerom Yoo, Andrew Chavez "81-year-old enthusiast revives local jazz scene"

    2nd place TV Feature – Alyssa Dizon "Early voting kick-off"

    2nd place Feature Photography – Andrew Chavez "High Flying"

    2nd place General News Photography – Andrew Chavez "Horned Frog politics"

    2nd place Online Sports Reporting – Chance Welch "Fort Worth journalists remember Sam Baugh"

    2nd place Non-Fiction Article – Lindsey Bever "Choking game"

    3rd place Feature Photography – Keely Doering "Glaser Shuffler"

    3rd place Online News Reporting – Joe Zigtema, Brett Larson, Robert Bemeber, Andrew Chavez "Seating Section…collapses"

    3rd place Editorial Writing – Andrew Chavez