Sports briefs


    2010 TCU Football Team Award Winners

    Most Valuable Player Defensive Scout Team — David Stoltzman

    Most Valuable Player Offensive Scout Team — Sam Carter

    Davey O’Brien Fightin’est Frog Award — Ed Wesley

    Grassy Hinton Most Conscientious Award — Kelly Griffin

    Y.Q. McCammon Outstanding Squadman — Ryan Hightower

    Abe Martin Leadership Award — Jake Kirkpatrick

    Ralph Lowe Sportsmanship Award — Curtis Clay

    G. Malcolm Louden Academic Achievement Award — Bart Johnson

    Most Valuable Player Special Teams — Jeremy Kerley

    Special Teams Points Leader — Jeremy Kerley

    Most Valuable Player Defense (Tie) — Tank Carder and Tejay Johnson

    Most Valuable Player Offense — Andy Dalton

    Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player — Andy Dalton

    Skye Dawson sixth-fasted player in nation

    TCU junior wide receiver Skye Dawson was ranked by as the sixth-fastest player in the nation.

    Dawson, who recorded 12 receptions for 170 yards, (14.2 average) also won with 60 meters at the 2010 Mountain West Conference Championships with a time of 6.69.

    Three Frogs Preseason All-Americans

    Senior linebacker Tank Carder was named a 2011 Preseason All-American while junior linebacker Tanner Brock and junior running back Ed Wesley were given honorable-mention selections for the 2011 team.

    Carder was named to five All-America teams last season and was also the Rose Bowl Defensive Most Valuable Player.

    Brock led the 2010 Horned Frog squad with 106 tackles and was a first-team All-Mountain West Conference player. Brock also recorded nine tackles in the Rose Bowl.

    Wesley was also a first team All-MWC selection and rushed for 1,078 yards his sophomore season. The Doak Walker Award semifinalist scored a team-high 11 touchdowns last season.

    Patterson to be honored with Distinguished Texan Award

    Head football coach Gary Patterson will be awarded the Distinguished Texan Award April 20 at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington by the National Football Foundation Gridiron Club of Dallas. The club pays tribute each year to an outstanding person who has maintained a lifetime of interest in the game of football and has been a significant contributor to the betterment of the game, according to a TCU Athletics release. TCU was one of three programs to finish in the top 25 of the final 2010 polls and in the Academic Progress Rate.

    Dallas Cowboys owner/general manager Jerry Jones received last year’s Distinguished Texas Award.

    Spring Practice Schedule

    TCU will conclude its final two spring practices today at 4 p.m. and Thursday at 4 p.m. While practices are closed to the public, check the Daily Skiff for practice coverage and analysis.