SGA officers inaugurated


    Continuing the progress of TCU was the theme at the Student Government Association officer initiation ceremony Tuesday night at the Kelly Alumni Center.

    “Today we follow through with our commitments and start making a difference,” President Jay Zeidman said in a speech in front of about 100 people.

    Zeidman said the university is experiencing a time of advancement and now is a good time to pursue improvements because Chancellor Victor Boschini is open to hearing the voice of students.

    Former President Brad Thompson swore in Zeidman, who swore in new members of the House of Student Representatives and other officers.

    “I am very excited to see all the great things that are going to happen this year through SGA,” Thompson said.

    After Thompson opened with the Pledge of Allegiance and a prayer, Bob Doran, chairman of the math department, addressed the audience with a message of open-mindedness and perseverance.

    “I want to challenge each one of you, no matter how successful you become, to stay true to yourselves,” Doran said.

    Secretary Corrie Lockhart then presented a special award to the women’s basketball team for inspiring the student body with their success on the court over the past several seasons.