Carder named MWC Defensive Player of the Year


    TCU linebacker Tank Carder has been named Mountain West Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season, the conference announced Tuesday.

    Carder, a senior from Sweeny, Texas, took home the award in 2010 and was one of 18 Frogs to earn all-conference recognition.

    Senior Greg McCoy was named Mountain West Special Teams Player of the Year after returning two kickoffs for touchdowns and averaging 76.2 return yards per game.

    Carder and McCoy were joined by receiver Josh Boyce, offensive guards Kyle Dooley and Blaize Foltz and defensive end Stansly Maponga as the TCU’ first-team All-Mountain West selections.

    Maponga, a sophomore from Carrolton, Texas, has racked up 8.5 sacks, 12 tackles for loss, five forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries on the year.

    Quarterback Casey Pachall was named to the All-Mountain West second-team.

    Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore was named Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year after taking home the same award the previous two seasons in the Western Athletic Conference.

    Below is a complete list of TCU players recognized Tuesday:

    All-Mountain West first-team:

    WR- Josh Boyce
    OG- Kyle Dooley
    OG- Blaize Foltz
    DE- Stansly Maponga
    LB- Tank Carder
    KR/PR- Greg McCoy

    All-Mountain West second-team:

    QB- Casey Pachall
    LB- Kenny Cain
    S- Tekerrein Cuba
    K- Ross Evans

    Honorable mention All-Mountain West:

    CB- Greg McCoy
    TE- Logan Brock
    S- Johnny Fobbs
    WR- Antoine Hicks
    RB- Waymon James
    RB- Matthew Tucker
    CB- Jason Verrett
    RB- Ed Wesley
    DT- D.J. Yendrey