TCU student media wins 33 awards at TIPA conference


    TCU student media cleaned up at the annual Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) convention, winning 33 awards Saturday.

    The awards covered content that was published in 2013 as well as live contests earlier in the week.

    TCU News Now, the university’s newscast, won 11 awards overall, including second place in best newscast and the sweepstakes award. The newspaper, Skiffx360, won 12 awards overall, including second place in overall excellence.

    Image Magazine won nine awards, including second place in overall design.

    This comes off the heels of winning the Class A award for best online newspaper by the Texas Associated Press Managing Editors April 6.  TCU 360 also placed third in “Team Effort.”

    TIPA, founded in 1909, is the largest state college media association in the United States.


    TIPA Awards:


    Staff, Sweepstakes Award; 2nd  place, best overall newscast; 1st place, sportscast; 2nd place, sportscast

    Colin Perry, 1st place, sports non-feature story

    Kendall Morris, 1st place non-feature story

    Taylor Prater, Chelsea Katz, Lauren Galippo, Joey McReynolds, 1st place, public affairs reporting.

    Tori Cummings, 1st place, sports feature story

    Kendal Morris, 1st place, audition tape

    Evan Recatune, 3rd place, audition tape

    Alex Apple, 2nd place, sports feature story

    Kendall Morris, HM, news feature story


    Newspaper Division 1

    Staff, 2nd place, overall excellence

    Ryan Osborne, 1st place, news feature story

    Natasha Panchal, 1st place, photo illustration

    Evan Recatune, 1st place, headline

    Alex Apple, 2nd place, sports feature story

    Evan Recatune, 3rd place, single subject presentation design

    Ryan Osborne, 3rd place, sports column

    Matt Coffelt, 2nd place, sports action photo

    Chloe Coleman, 2nd place, news story

    Natasha Panchal, Alex Apple, HM, page one design

    Katherine Love, 2nd place, feature photo

    Matt Jennings, HM, sports news story.


    General Magazine

    Staff, 3rd place, overall excellence; 2nd place, overall design

    Jessica Nenow, 2nd place, cover design

    Brittany Henderson, 1st place, column/essay

    Katherine Love, 2nd place, feature story

    Samantha Ehlinger, 3rd place news feature story

    Brighton Cook, 2nd place, illustration

    Daniel Ethridge, HM, feature photo

    Samantha Ehlinger, Jessica Nenow, HM, story package.


    Live Reporting

    Grant McGalliard, 2nd place, sports reporting