Gary Patterson among nominees for Texas Sports Hall of Fame


    TCU football head coach Gary Patterson is among 20 primary ballot nominees for the Texas Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2015.

    Along with Patterson, the hall’s website lists some notable nominees including former New York Giants defensive end Michael Strahan, US soccer player Clint Dempsey and retired gymnast Nastia Liukin.   

    The hall is comprised of “media members around the state and chaired by Denne Freeman,” according to the website. 

    The website also says six nominees are generally selected from the primary ballot. 

    Patterson has been the head coach of the Frogs since 2000 and is the all-time winningest coach in school history with 120 victories. His 120-44 record ranks seventh nationally in winning percentage. 

    The Kansas State alum also received a total of 10 National Coach of the Year honors during the 2009 and 2010 seasons, according to his GoFrogs bio.

    The official announcement of the inductees will be made in September with the enshrining banquet taking place in early 2015.